WIAW #2 & Crockpot Apple Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats

I really liked participating in WIAW last week so I’m back this week. This is a very typical day of eats for me so I thought it was a good day to share. I received a few requests for the Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal recipe I showed last week, so I’ve included that info below. It’s a really easy recipe that guarantees a healthy and hearty breakfast on the fly.

 

Breakfast

Speaking of Apple Cinnamon Oats…I was in a rush for breakfast this morning so I grabbed one from the fridge. I added a dash of coconut milk and microwave it for 2 minutes, I find that it revives really well. Coffee was necessary and I’m currently loving the KCup Mocha Coconut from Donut Shop with frothed organic milk, topped with a dash of cocoa powder. Then I grabbed a handful of Rainer cherries on the side.  Cherries are my FAVORITE fruit so I eat them in bulk during their limited season.

 

What I Ate Wednesday_5_29_1

 

Apple Cinnamon CrockPot Steel Cut Oats

Serves: 4

 

1 Cup uncooked steel cut oats

1 T Ground Cinnamon (adjust this to your personal taste, 1 Tablespoon is quite strong)

2 medium apples, cored and chopped (I left the skin on)

1 Cup Vanilla Coconut Milk

2.5 Cups Water (I like my oats drier, if you prefer, you can increase the water to 3 cups). You can also use all milk or all water for this recipe.

 

Add all ingredients to the Crockpot and cook on low overnight. I put mine in at about 11:30pm and it was ready when I came down for breakfast at around 8am. That’s it, super simple and delicious.

 

Snack

In between morning calls I grabbed a small apple (anyone else love those bags of little apples at Trader Joe’s?), sliced Rotisserie chicken, and a glass of VitaminWater Zero in Revive. I tend to run incredibly low on potassium and the Revive water has no calories, no sugar, and 880mg of potassium. So lately I try to drink one bottle over the course of the day.

What I Ate Wednesday_5_29_Snack

 

Lunch

Lunch was my go to salad. Trader Joe’s sells cooked, seasoned chicken breasts in their prepackaged food case. They’re a little higher than I like in sodium, but they’re are incredibly convenient. This salad had one chopped chicken breast, about 3 cups of Romaine lettuce, 2 Tablespoons of grated parmesan, and 2 Tablespoon of Trader Joe’s Cilantro Dressing. Sometimes I add some black beans, but today I kept it simple, and paired it with a big glass of unsweetened iced tea.

What I Ate Wednesday_5_29_Lunch

 

Dinner

This dinner was a total win and really very simple as well. It’s a bed of brussel sprouts (sautéed with a bit of coconut oil), black beans, and feta cheese tossed with a little Italian dressing. I topped the sprouts with a piece of (premade) Macadamia Nut crusted Mahi Mahi. I buy the fish in the freezer section at Costco and they are DELICIOUS! I know frozen fish can get a bad wrap in terms of taste, but this is the best I’ve ever had, I absolutely love them. Not pictured, I had another glass of the VitaminWater.

What I Ate Wednesday_5_29_Dinner

 

Dessert

After dinner, I had the last of my angel food cake topped with fat free whip cream and fresh blueberries. Too good for words.

What I Ate Wednesday_5_29_Dessert

 

So that’s it. I did have an eBoost around 5pm and I finished the VitaminWater after working out later that evening, but otherwise this was everything I ate. Oh, and I don’t usually take pictures of the water I drink, but I down a lot of water over the course of the day in addition to the beverages above, usually around 12+ glasses. For those that know I’m trying to lose weight, this is very typical of what I eat, though I usually leave out the angel food cake. This was about 1500 calories, 32g fat, 110g protein, and 30g fiber. If you want to see more of my daily eats, let me know…or you can follow me on instagram. I don’t post every meal, but I share quite a few.

 

Follow @AddisonShaw on Instagram

4 responses

  1. I have filed to unsubscribe several times and it is not working for me. Please do it for me. You are a waste of time. Talking “eats” in the 21st century…how archaic….

    • Oh how I wish I could remove you, but I can’t. You have to click the Unsubscribe link in the email, go to the blog and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar, or use the link below to edit your subscriptions. If you still encounter an issue, feel free to take your disdain directly to WordPress support.

      http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/

Join the Conversation!

