Let’s Get This Office Started!

Hooray! It’s the weekend!

 

I’m really excited for this weekend, not only because it’s  a few days off…but I’m hoping to make some progress around the house. If the weather cooperates I’m planning to install the faux grass in the yard and I’d also like to make some progress in the office. The windows need moulding and I think I have finally picked the color. Not sure if I’ll be able to get all the painting done…it’s supposed to be around 100 degrees, so it may just be too uncomfortable, but we’ll see.

 

The plan is to paint the walls a neutral beige/grey/taupe color, in fact I think I’m going to use the color I used on the potting bench, just color matched for interior. I’ve already swapped out the broken white blinds for bamboo shades, exactly the same as the ones installed in the spare bedroom. I’ll share those once I have the moulding installed.

Here are a few other things I hope to incorporate into the room.

 

Office-Favorites_ToBuy 

1. Allen & Roth 44-inch Mazon Matte Black Celing Fan

The fan is a must since the summers are very warm and I prefer not to use the AC if I can avoid it. I’ve been searching for the perfect fan, and this is it! It’s modern, clean and has efficient lighting. Plus, it’s not too expensive…something that is rare for a beautiful fan.

2. Ikea KIVIK Chaise

I want to incorporate some comfortable seating in the office, aside from my office chair. I’m in here so often that it would be nice to have a comfy blogging or reading spot. Let’s face it, the pup will probably enjoy sleeping in here with me too.

3. Ikea TORSBY Table

I’d like to install an ‘L’ shaped desk in the office. It’s a bit difficult to describe the vision I have in my head, but I’d like to use this dining table for one side of the ‘L’ and build the other side to look like the below picture (with the shelving as well). I like that the table is high enough to fit my filing cabinet underneath it, and I can use the frosted glass top as a light box for my art.

 

Here are a few photos that are an inspiration for design and color scheme.

 

clip_image001

Via

 

clip_image001[5]

Via

 

clip_image001[7]

Via

 

This is purely inspiration for color…I adore this combo. So clean and refreshing.

clip_image001[9]

Via

Join the Conversation!

