DIY Christmas Ornament 3: Sequins

You can file this ornament under something to do when you need to zone out and have some time on your hands. The result is really stunning, but attaching each pin takes time. Overall this took me about 2 hours so settle in with some good music or an audio book and pin away.

Or have a few friends over and chat while you pin…if you drink some wine you can also make these!

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • Styrofoam Ball (use any size you wish)
  • Sequins
  • Seed Beads
  • Sequin Pins or Straight Pins (sequin pins are typically shorter than sewing straight pins)
  • Screw Eye
  • Ornament Hanger or Ribbon

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Step 2:

Unless you are pinning the ornament in a single color, you’ll want to make a general plan on where to start. I decided to go with stripes of white, turquoise, and light green.

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Once I had my plan in place, I started pinning.

Sequin Holiday Ornament

I started with the center row and I pinned three rows of turquoise.

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Then I did two rows of White on either side of the turquoise.

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Next I pinned one row of light green…

Sequin Holiday Ornament

…followed by another two rows of white sequins.

Finally I finished the ornament with the green sequins.

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Step 3:

Be sure to leave a small hole on one end so you can attach a hanger. In this case, I chose to use a screw eye.

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Step 4:

Attach some ribbon so you can hang the ornament. For all of these tutorials, please consider using what you have already on hand. If you don’t have ribbon, use string, twine, thread, or the metal hooks that are typically used for ornaments.

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Project Cost Breakdown (per Ornament):

Styrofoam Ball (Michaels) = $1

3 colors of sequins (Hobby Lobby) = $6

Seed Beads (Already Owned) = $0

2 packages of Sequin Pins (Hobby Lobby) = $2

Screw Eye (Already Owned) = $0

Ribbon (Already Owned) = $0

Total Project Cost: $9 (however, you’ll have a lot of sequins left over, so any additional ornament will be much cost you about $2 each)

Now, as an added bonus, here’s another sequin ornament in case you don’t want stripes. If you want to do a solid color, consider using colored seed beads to give it something extra. However, you can keep everything in a single color as well and it would look great.

For this smaller ornament, I chose to go with silver sequins, purple seed beads, and light green ribbon. I use the same steps as above to create this ornament so I’ve only included pictures below.

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Sequin Holiday Ornament

Sequin Holiday Ornament

This ornament used the same supplies and cost about $2.75 since I had to buy the sequins for $2.

SHOWING THE LOVE:

Linking To: Craft-O-Maniac

14 responses

  1. I found your weblog web site on google and check a couple of of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I simply further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Looking for ahead to reading more from you afterward!?

  2. Love this idea! I’m actually considering it…whoa watch out, I may get creative up in here 😉 By the way, I turned a good friend of mine on to your blog, she loves your ideas for the ornaments, especially the cork trees.

  3. Pingback: Christmas Crafts by randijodaniel - Pearltrees

  4. Pingback: DIY Christmas Ornament 12: Sequins and Lace | Changing My Destiny

  5. Pingback: X-Mas | Pearltrees

  6. Love these ornaments and buy kits. This is much more economical. I have a problem in that I can’t find any pure white sequins. Any suggestions??

  7. This was such a great find!! My grandmother made these ornaments years ago when my parents were first married. When she passed away, my sister and I received all of the ornaments she had made for not only her own tree but also my parents’ tree. Some of them were very intricate, different shapes, trims, sewed on items, etc. We treasure these ornaments, each one is wrapped gingerly with tissue paper and they are the highlight of my tree. While they won’t be the same, now I can make some more to compliment hers. Thank you so very much!

Join the Conversation!