DIY Christmas Ornament 9: Felt Flowers

While I like the end product, this ornament bummed me out. I wasn’t able to get a single picture I was happy with, and I considered whether I should even post it. It did end up being cute; however, unlike others, I’m not going to go into detail as to how I created the flower. There are others that have posted much better tutorials on how to create stunning felt flowers.

This is my favorite felt flower tutorial of all time. Although I have yet to make one that looks anywhere as good as these.

The link above is to create a felt flower broach. Since I was creating an ornament, I followed the tutorial to make 2 flowers, then instead of adding the pin, I added ribbon and glued them together.

IMG_2942

…and queue the terrible picture parade.

Please use the link above for the tutorial. The how to is excellent.

Here’s a little photo journey of my flowers.

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

Felt Flower Holiday Oranment

Here’s where I’ll step in. To make the ornament, I made 2 felt flowers, exactly the same size.

On the back of one flower I glued both ends of the ribbon to create a hanger. Once dry, I glued the two flowers together, back to back. This creates a double sided ornament which looks like a flower at any angle.

Felt Flower Holiday Ornament

In the end it worked out; and although you can clearly see that I used hot glue in the pictures above, I don’t recommend it. The hot glue did it’s job, but it’s the main reason my flowers don’t look as good as the inspiration flowers.

IMG_2942

These ornaments cost me nothing since I had everything on hand. However, I’m not going to do a breakdown of the supplies since I really do recommend following the tutorial above and it requires different supplies than I used.

SHOWING THE LOVE:

Linking To: Get Outta My Head Please

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Pinned it on Pinterest | Eye of the Beholder

Join the Conversation!