DIY Christmas Ornament 4: Ribbon Filled

Today is my first day back at work after almost two weeks off and I’m physically sick about it. Starting at about noon yesterday, I started feeling a lot of anxiety and dread so this one is easier than most, but still quite lovely. I really like this idea for kids since there are no sharp objects and they can pick their favorite ribbon.

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • Clear Glass Ornament
  • Ribbon

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

I found beautiful thin, glittery ribbon at Michaels for $1 a roll. If you go looking for something similar at your Michael’s, I did not find these in the ribbon aisle.I found both of these in a bin near the stamps and scrapbooking supplies.

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

Step 2:

Ok, here’s the easy part. Thread the entire roll of ribbon into the ornament.

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

Step 3:

Put the cap back on.

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

I told you it was easy.

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

The pink ribbon was more of a garland wrapped around wire, making it more difficult to thread into the ornament. However, it filled the entire ornament better than the ribbon and is really beautiful.

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

Sorry for the window glare…I’m still trying to get better at the pictures.

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

There you have it, two lovely ornaments for about 5 minutes of work.

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

Project Cost Breakdown (per Ornament):

Clear Ornaments (JoAnn’s Fabric) = $.50 each (I purchased a set of 6 for $3 which was 50% off)

Ribbon (Michael’s) = $1

Total Project Cost: $1.50

Ribbon Filled Holiday Ornament

SHOWING THE LOVE:

Linking To: Centsational Girl, Craft-O-Maniac

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Christmas Crafts by randijodaniel - Pearltrees

  2. You are my kind of Christmas crafting genius. 🙂

    So glad I found your project via Centsational Girl.

    I would love for you to visit Decor To Adore. I am in the midst of a “Gifts You Can Make” series.

    Be merry and bright!

  3. Pingback: Make This Year’s Christmas Decor with Ribbons | Interior Design Blogs

  4. Pingback: Community Post: 39 Ways To Decorate A Glass Ornament | What's Trending Now

Join the Conversation!