DIY Christmas Ornament 1: Peacock Feathers

I don’t think I have ever been so excited for a craft project as I am for this DIY Ornament series. I have so many ideas to share with you and since I have a lot of posts coming at you in the first few days of the month, I thought I would start off simple.

Today is day 1 and we’re kicking things off with Peacock Feathers! These are, in my opinion, the most stunning feathers out there. Of course you could also use other colored feathers that match your holiday design. Hobby Lobby had some stunning green, teal, and pink feathers that I almost grabbed as well.

In the end, the peacock colors edged out all the others.

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • Peacock Feathers from your local craft store (I liked the ones from Hobby Lobby better than Michael’s)
  • Clear Glass Ornaments
  • Scissors & a Pencil (for positioning the feather)

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

Step 2:

When I say this project is simple, I mean it in every sense of the word. However, that doesn’t mean it’s not a beautiful effect. I purchased the feathers at Hobby Lobby, it was a package of 2 that cost just over $2. However, the feathers were a little too large for the ornament, so using the scissors I trimmed the ends just enough to fit them into the glass orb. I had already cut them down quite a bit when I took the picture.

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

Step 3:

Slip the feather into the ornament and position it using a pencil. If, at this point, you feel the feather is still too large, remove and trim some more.

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

Tip: Use a toilet paper roll to balance the ornament while you are adding the feather.

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

Step 4:

Once the feather is placed where you want it, replace the ornament cap and hang from the tree or give as a gift.

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

…they also work great scattered throughout the house (especially since I don’t have a tree yet).

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

Project Cost Breakdown (per Ornament):

Clear Ornaments (JoAnn’s Fabric) = $.50 each (I purchased a set of 6 for $3 which was 50% off)

Peacock Feather – 2 pack (Hobby Lobby) = $1.15 each feather

Total Project Cost: $1.65

Peacock Feather Christmas Ornament

Tip: If you want a more finished look, I would recommend spray painting the cap. ORB would look beautiful.

7 responses

  1. Pingback: DIY Christmas Ornament 12: Sequins and Lace | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 15 Make Peacock feather DIY Projects (Ideas) - Craftionary

  3. Pingback: 6 Uniquely Creative DIY Peacock Feather Craft Ideas

  4. Pingback: 53 Clever Feather Craft Ideas

  5. Pingback: Peacock Feather Decorations – 15 Tutorials

  6. Pingback: Community Post: 39 Ways To Decorate A Glass Ornament | What's Trending Now

Join the Conversation!