Before/After – Hawaiian Style Bathroom

I’m curious…how do you approach home design? Are you a finish one room at a time person, or do you like to work on projects all over the house? I tend to work on little bits in every room, meaning each room is in some sort of progress. However, small rooms like bathrooms or laundry rooms I finish all at once since they are small and usually inexpensive. Of course this doesn’t take into account any type of remodel.

This is the full bath on the first floor of my home. One of these days I’m going to post a whole house walk through so you can fully grasp the unique layout of the whole home, but for now I’ll just show you pieces. I finished this room a while ago, before I ever started this blog, so I don’t have all the costs handy. I believe the entire Re-Design was about $50.

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- Before

White…White…and more White…

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- Before

The tiny space made pictures al little difficult.

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- Before

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- Before

When I was in high school/college I worked in an art and framing store. I loved that job. When I was working with customers on framing choices I would swoon over their artwork. One piece of art I fell for was of a Hawaiian dancer. So when my brother got married in Maui a few years later, I went on the hunt for my own Hawaiian art.  That art was the inspiration for this room.

Since the room is small and dark, I wanted a light and refreshing color. I used a quart of Valspar in Bamboo Shoot. It was the perfect shade of Avocado…although that’s not entirely the image I had in my mind when I started this room. I ended up loving the result.

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- After

I picked up the towels from Homegoods when I realized the colors were a perfect match. I also picked up a clearance towel rack and basic oil rubbed bronze shower curtain rod at Bed Bath and Beyond.

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- After

The shower curtain is a dark brown and something I’ve had from my previous apartment. I also used Plumeria style curtain hooks which tied into the theme perfectly.

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- After

Since there is minimal storage in this room, setting the extra towels on the back of the toilet became a functional decoration.

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- After

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- After

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- After

Random Fact: Since I was travelling home by plane the art was triple wrapped in bubble wrap. It came home without a scratch. Within minutes of unpacking, my previous dog jumped up on the bed and stood right in the middle of one print. If you look closely (in person) you can see her nail scratches and footprints. I was mad at the time, but now I love that memory since she has passed.

Spare Bathroom ReDesign- After

I believe this is the last room that I finished prior to starting the blog so now you’ve seen it all. The rest of the house is in a state of progress, just the way I like it.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: February Recap & Mental Dumbbells | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 2 Year Home Anniversary – A Look Back | Changing My Destiny

  3. I love your Hawaiian bathroom and I am going to copy it, if you don’t mind. My bathroom is the exact shape except for the window is above the shower.

Join the Conversation!