Laundry Room Eyesore

Hi All! Hope you are having a great start to the week so far. Did you do anything fun this past weekend?

Me? I removed a sticker this weekend.

Yes, you heard me right. I spent way too much time removing a stupid sticker from my washing machine.

I don’t mind doing laundry, it’s actually one other few chores I like. Aside from the folding at the end, it doesn’t really require much work, at least in my house. But I have an eyesore in my Laundry Room.

Do you see it?

Removing sticker from washing machine

Let’s zoom in a bit…

Removing sticker from washing machine

Do you see that ugly ass sticker on my Washing Machine? It’s the instructions on how to install the washing machine. Apparently the original owners never tried to take it off, so the heat and time baked it to the finish. I tried peeling it, scraping it, soaking it, etc. It’s stuck and I don’t like it one bit.

In an act of desperation, I invested in a very large bottle of Duck Adhesive Remover.

Duck Adhesive Remover, Washing Machine

The bottle is pretty genius. Instead of just pouring the liquid on, it has a built in dispenser pad which makes it less messy. The lid worked as a remover of sorts.

Duck Adhesive Remover

It worked perfectly on the small sticker, this came off within seconds.

Removing sticker from washing machine

I was feeling good after the first sticker, so I drenched the larger sticker and left it to soak for a few minutes. The difference is that the small sticker was paper based and the larger sticker has a waxy/plastic finish. The remover had a very difficult time soaking into the plastic finish on the larger sticker.

Removing sticker from washing machine

The included remover worked for a whole 3 seconds, then I deemed it useless. I switched to a razor blade and came up with this after picking at it for a good 10 minutes.

Removing sticker from washing machine

UGH!!!

Imgaine the whole process on repeat for the next few hours. Yes, I said hours! Not to mention the ‘refreshing citrus scent’ gave me a massive migraine.

Removing sticker from washing machine

Removing sticker from washing machine

FINALLY!! (and yes if you looked closely, I nicked the washing machine a few times with the blade. I’ll be fixing that shortly.)

Washing Machine

Now I have a beautiful washer that looks like new, and no more icky eyesore that makes me cringe.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Monthly Project Recap – September 2011 | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: The Big Reveal – Laundry Room ReDesign | Changing My Destiny

  3. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!