DIY: Adding Texture To Garden Pots & My Valentine Front Door

Yes, I disappeared for a few days. I blame it on the Sinus headache and Taxes. I’m finally able to breathe again (thank you DayQuil/NyQuil Sinux) and my taxes are DONE!! Oh yeah, it’s been a real party over here for the past few days. I promise better posting in the coming days, but in the meantime I need to follow up on a project I told you about the other day.

A few days ago I shared with you about the cork heart that I made for my front door post.

Cork Heart Sign

In addition to the heart, I also decorated some cheap garden pots to follow the same purple/pink color theme.

Valentine Door

Valentine Door

Valentine Door

My poor front door post needs a new coat of paint. Apparently my neighbors celebrated New Years with silly string. I noticed it a few days later, all over my porch. It would have been nice if they tried to clean it up or just let me know, that stuff is like glue. I was able to get a lot of it off, but there is some permanently adhered to the post.

Valentine Door

Transforming the pot was easy.

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • Cheap plastic garden pot and saucers
  • Puffy Paint
  • Spray Paint
  • Pencil

Puffy Paint Garden Pots

I purchased these plastic garden pots/saucers at Home depot for about $2 each.

Step 2:

Using the Puffy Paint, I added rows of dots on each pot. I used a pencil line as a guide which made it easier to keep the lines straight.

Puffy Paint Garden Pots

Puffy Paint Garden Pots

Step 3:

One the puffy paint had fully dried, I spray painted the smaller pot a Satin White using some leftover spray paint I had on hand. I used a glossy purple for the larger pot.

To keep the pot from sticking to the saucer I let them dry for 24 hours, then I dropped in a potted plant. Yes, I admit I’m somewhat lazy, I didn’t actually pot the plant. I put the pot in a pot. (I need to stop giving away my secrets…)

Valentine Door

I think they turned out quite well and I can see using these throughout the year.

Project Cost Breakdown (Finished Front Door Design):

Plastic Pots/Saucers (Home Depot) = $6

Cork Heart (Tutorial Here) = $0

Pink & White Plants (Already Owned) = $0

Bell Wreath (Already Owned) = $0

White Spray Paint (Already Owned) = $0

Purple Gloss Spray Paint (Home Depot) = $4

Total Project Cost: $10

2 responses

  1. Pingback: February Recap & Mental Dumbbells | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!